New Ribbon
Slide 1

London Winds with Michael Collins

Slide 2

Borodin Quartet

Slide 3

Katherine Broderick

Slide 4

Stravinsky's 'The Soldiers Tale'

Slide 5

The Sixteen with Harry Christophers

Slide 6


Slide 7

Joanne Lunn

Example Frame

The first of these was ‘Chopin’s Waterloo’ by British composer Benjamin Wallfisch, a 25 minute work for piano, violin, cello, double bass, horn and percussion, inspired by works by the French/American painter and sculptor, ARMAN.

Chopin's Waterloo

It received its world premiere at the Sitka Summer Festival in September 2012, receiving a standing ovation, and reviews suggesting it was the most exciting music event in Alaska for 15 years.

It received its European premiere in Wimbledon on November 24th 2012 performed by Piers Lane, Jack Liebeck, Zuill Bailey, Rinat Ibragimov, Richard Watkins, and Timothy Constable.

It has had subsequent performances at the El Paso Pro Music Festival in Texas, USA, and at the Australian Festival of Chamber Music in Townsville, Australia.

In 2011 the Festival commissioned a work 'THWOK' based on a poem by Championship Poet in Residence, Matt Harvey, set to music by composer Robert Fokkens. In association with AELTC.

The Championships Wimbledon

A game in the life

bounce bounce bounce bounce
thwackety wackety zingety ping
hittety backety pingety zang
wack, thwok, thwack, pok, ,
thwikety, thwekity, thwokity, thwakity
cover the court with alarming alacrity
smackety dink, smackety dink
boshety bashity crotchety crashety
up loops a lob with a teasing temerity
leaps in the air in defiance of gravity
puts it away with a savage severity
coupled with suavity



Benjamin Wallfisch
Benjamin Wallfisch


Patrons: Lord Birkett, Alfred Brendel, Rivka Golani, Ian Partridge, Raphael Wallfisch
Wimbledon Music Festival Limited. Registered number: 07145737. Company registered in England and Wales.
Registered address: 152 Durham Road, London SW20 0DG. Registered Charity number: 1142980